Mahomes, Allen & More Announced As NFL Honors Finalists


| LAST UPDATE 01/26/2023

By Alanis Wallis
NFL Chiefs Quarterback Patrick Mahomes
David Eulitt/Stringer via Getty Images

The Super Bowl is around the corner, but there’s another competition that teams are fighting for. The NFL Honors finalists have been announced. Will your favorite player have a chance to take a title? Here's a look.

The NFL Honors is held every year at the end of the season in a star-studded event, with the best of the best in football coming out. The annual awards ceremony occurs during Super Bowl week in the same city hosting the big game. This year’s ceremony will be held at Symphony Hall in Phoenix, Arizona, on February 9. Only days before the kickoff of the Super Bowl game, teams and players will be competing to win one of the 13 possible titles. From the Most Valuable Player to Coach of the Year, many categories are up for grabs. But who are the finalists that have a chance at winning? For starters, quarterbacks Patrick Mahomes, Jalen Hurts, Joe Burrow and Josh Allen and wide receiver Justin Jefferson were announced as the finalists for the coveted MVP title.

NFL Honors Joe Burrow Josh Allen
Bryan M. Bennett/Stringer via Getty Images
Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

Kansas City Chief’s Mahomes previously won the title in 2018 and has a good chance of retaking the title with the fire season he’s been having. He leads the NFL in passing yards and passing touchdowns, 5,250 and 41, respectively. He has some stiff competition if he wants to get up on the stage. Philadelphia Eagles’ Jalen Hurts has been on the top of his game, with 3,701 passing yards, 22 passing touchdowns, and 13 rushing touchdowns. Cincinnati Bengal’s Joe Burrow and Buffalo Bills’ Josh Allen both have had dominating seasons. The three coaches tackling each other for NFL Coach of the Year are the New York Giants’ Brian Daboll, the Jacksonville Jaguars’ Doug Pederson, and the San Francisco 49ers’ Kyle Shanahan. Other categories include Comeback Player, Offensive Player, Defensive Player, and many more.

The 12th annual NFL Honors will be hosted by singer and television host Kelly Clarkson and will air on NBC, Peacock, and NFL Network, starting at 9pm ET. A full list of finalists is available on Until then, stay tuned for more updates.

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below